May 2015 - Donation

Hi members of this community and scene a like. I would like to take a minute of your time to ask if you could please donate just a little to help towards server costs. We are facing really hard times, and as such, we are now only able to run on 1 server. By running on 1 server, it increases load times and as such, could possibly ruin your experience when viewing this forum.

In return for your donation, we will give the services below as a way to say thank you for your contribution.
  • - You will have the ads disabled version of the website.
  • - You will be given an extra user group (certified contributor).
  • - You will have the oppertunity to change your username (once only).
  • - You will be given the ability to view an entire section dedicated to contributors. This section will not be seen by those that haven't donated.
  • - You will keep your certified helper status once your donation expires.
  • - Lastly, we will give you access to the moderator section and chat box where you can talk to staff and uploader members of this community.

So why not donate and help keep PS3ISO alive!

If you've read this message, thank you. We greatly appreciate all the help you provide towards this community.

ISO Network
0 %
Total Donations to cover the May server costs %0
100 %
Donate to PS3ISO Via Paypal
New to the ps2 scene and need your opinions
New to the ps2 scene and need your opinions
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member Starting To Post
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    12

    Default New to the ps2 scene and need your opinions

    Hi guys am new to the scene so go easy on me ;).

    Just a couple of quick questions as I can't decide.

    I am looking to mod a ps2 and run games from a hdd, which would be better to mod phat or slim? As I am going to buy a console either or, but I would prefer a slim.

    I have also heard the slim lags a lot and game compatibility isn't great for it is this by much compared to the phat, do you suffer any problems on either consoles and can you guide me which to buy as its for my kid nephew to play games and maybe myself when I get a chance lol.

    Thanks in advance guys

  2. #2
    Senior Member PS3ISO AllStar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    I'd definitely recommend a fat PS2 with an internal HDD.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Starting To Post
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I assume what you mean is an internal harddrive in a enclosure then wired up by USB?

  4. #4
    Senior Member PS3ISO AllStar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    No, the network adapter for the fat PS2 has a connection for an IDE hard drive. Which in my opinion is the best way to play backups, because games play a lot better than on USB devices. Even if you already have a USB HDD you want to use I'd still recommend getting a fat so you will have the option to get an IDE HDD if you want to later.
    Last edited by bl000; 4th March 2013 at 11:45 AM.

  5. #5
    Member Starting To Post
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    do games burned on disk work better than ide hdd?

  6. #6
    Senior Member PS3ISO AllStar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Not in my experience, I've had problems with burning games to discs like laggy cutscenes and games taking a really long time to start, but it really depends on the strength of your laser and the quality of the discs. All the games I've tried on an internal HDD work perfectly, but there may be some games that don't work on an internal HDD.

  7. #7
    Member Starting To Post
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    thanks for the reply any suggestions on a hdd to buy?

  8. #8
    Senior Member PS3ISO AllStar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    436
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Western Digital drives don't fit the network adapter, but you can take the adapter apart and break the rivets that hold the connections in place and put it back together, then the drive will fit. Other than that most IDE drives should work fine. You can also buy a network adapter with SATA connections but I've read that the ethernet connection doesn't work and I'm not sure about the compatibility of SATA drives.

  9. #9
    Member Starting To Post
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    thanks for the help almost bought a western digital

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •